A look at how much each province receives under new federal transit funding

OTTAWA – The federal government is allocating $3.38 billion to provinces and cities to pay for upgrades to transit system and cover the cost of planning and design for future expansion. The allocations are based on ridership numbers, so the more transit users in a province, the more money a province receives. Here are the provincial breakdowns:

Newfoundland and Labrador: $4.94 million

Prince Edward Island: $660,000

Nova Scotia: $32.2 million

New Brunswick: $8.74 million

Quebec: $923.71 million

Ontario: $1.49 billion

Manitoba: $82.8 million

Saskatchewan: $29 million

Alberta: $347.19 million

British Columbia: $460.49 million

Yukon: $890,000

Northwest Territories: $320,000

Total: $3.38 billion

(Source: Infrastructure Canada)