Nova Scotia to expand liquor agency network into seven rural communities

HALIFAX – The Nova Scotia government says it has approved new agency liquor stores for seven rural communities.

Diana Whalen, the minister responsible for the Liquor Control Act, says it’s the first expansion of the Nova Scotia Liquor Corp.’s agency store network in seven years.

The agency stores have been approved for areas near East Bay-Ben Eoin, Cape North, Port Bickerton, Brookfield, Peggy’s Cove, Concession and Centreville.

The province says requests for proposals will be issued this week for businesses interested in running the stores.

There are currently 51 agency stores authorized to sell alcoholic beverages in rural areas across the province.